Blooming Bright

Blooming Bright Watercolor on Indian handmade paper. A art journal page

Flowers, garden, nature…… these connect me to my soul. Even a little time spent amidst nature can relax me to a large extent. And that is why I always yearn to have my own garden. It is like owning a piece of heaven. The green leaves, the buds and blooms, and if I am lucky a beautiful bee or colourful butterfly can be my occasional guest. Gardens are hope that tomorrow exists and it will be beautiful. With this wish I am slowly building my own little garden. There are only seven plants now, three flowering plants, two herbs, one bamboo and one succulent. Hopefully they all are growing.

These flowers in the painting are not from my garden. I found this picture in Instagram and loved the brightness. So I painted them in loose watercolour style in my art journal. The background is created in wet on wet technique and some colour lifting to create the form of leaves and stem. The flowers were mostly kept white and done by colouring the negative space to highlight the brightness of the subject with mostly the paper white. The centre of the flowers were mostly coloured with dry brush technique layered over light pigment.

I am very happy to get back to my art journal. I am trying to do a 100 Day challenge of art journaling. But I don’t want to declare it on Instagram and Facebook at the moment as I am really not sure if I am ready for this. So far it has been four days. Two early to commit for 100. However, I believe if I can do this 100 days challenge of art journaling, something very good will happen in my life in the field of art. I am sure that this challenge will open up new opportunities for me. But most importantly it will improve my skill and creativity and make it a daily habit for me. It will definitely change me as a person and add the much needed confidence required for achieving few major goals of my life.

For now I am happy with the garden and the peace I derive from my art journaling.

Hope this was a good read. Enjoy and keep your creativity going.

Published by Trivita Roy

I am an architect and city planner and work as an real estate market researcher. I love art. Most of my art journal is like a practice of art after work. So most of the compositions are inspired or sometime replicated from other sketches. However I the process of making this journal I am learning many techniques. Looking forward to walk long with this journal.

Leave a comment